A Croyde Family Wedding!

‘Croyde is a village on the west-facing coastline of North Devon, England. The past 30 years has seen large increases in younger-age visitors develop around surfing.’ – Wikipedia.

Thought I would pop that little bit of information in just incase you are unaware of where I was about to blabble about!

Firstly can we just take time to appreciate this view… (See photo below)

image

Photo by RJ Sheldrick.

The view from our seating area at the ceremony. As you can see, we were at the top of a cliff looking down onto Saunton Beach, one of the bride and grooms favourite places to surf, just round the corner from Croyde bay. You can also see from this photograph that we didn’t have the best weather for the ceremony but as per the bride and grooms request and wishes we continued through the ceremony outside without a blip, after all, a bit of rain never hurt anyone!

The groom drove himself and his best man to the ceremony in his cherished 1955 Split Screen VW Camper – Scarlett! And the bride was transported to the venue by my husband in their 2015 VW T5 Sportline. Both with ivory ribbon, personalised with their names and the date of the wedding.. 26.06.2016. The perfect wedding vehicles for the both of them and their surfing personalities and hobbies! (See photo below)

image

Photo by BJ Horsfall.

We were all sitting out on the lawn by 12.30pm awaiting the arrival of the bridesmaids, page boys, father of the bride and of course, one half of the most important couple of the day, the bride!

If this is it‘ by Newton Falkner started playing and we knew that this was the moment. As all guests rose to their feet, down the stairs, coming up the rear of the bridal party, came an immaculately dressed proud father, hand in hand with the stunning bride.

Tears began, well for me atleast, I couldn’t see anyone else through what was being produced from my eyes! Oh and feeding my 18 month old son Mini cheddars to stop him from wanting to run around or screaming! (I have to let him off, they don’t understand when is acceptable time to cry at that age!)

The ceremony included some beautiful quotes, poems and songs from family members and close friends. Including a very well known song by the seekers called ‘I’ll never find another you‘ at which point.. Yes my tears flooded again! Well, that was until my husband (who was filming some of the wedding) came round the side of where we were sitting, right next to me singing at the top of his voice! Beautifully I must say (to be fair to him he does has a stunning voice) Although not so much when watching back the video! Talk about LOUD AND PROUD. He says “I was singing as quietly as I could but I needed to keep people going” PFFT YEAH RIGHT. He won’t live that one down! Lyrics in the song include.. ‘I could search the whole world over, until my life is through, but I know I’ll never find another you’ seriously though? HOW CUTE!

After the ceremony came drinks, photographs and time to be able to speak to the rest of the guests, many of which came from the same village and yet we all had to travel 260 miles before we actually manage to have a catch up! Just goes to show how busy life can be.

Following this came the wedding breakfast, speeches from the groom, father of the bride and best man. All of which has us grinning from ear to ear. We received such beautiful favours which really show of the personalities of both the bride and groom!

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

Photo by SE Sheldrick.

Oh…. And a party!! (I won’t be inserting any photos of that – I’m not convinced I have any appropriate!)

Anyway…

It has to be said, it was a truly magical day from start to finish! Each and every detail was superb and extremely well put together and organised. I know I’ve said it twice before but I have to say it again, the personalities of both the bride and groom shone through the whole day!

Heres to the newly wed Mr&Mrs! Wishing them both a lifetime of happiness!

FOREVER SUN, SEA & SCARLETT!

SimplySheldrick xo

One thought on “A Croyde Family Wedding!

Leave a comment